Doctoral Student Corner

ABOUT THE DOCTORAL STUDENT CORNER

The AIS Doctoral Student College will host several virtual events as part of this year’s AMCIS Doctoral Student Corner. We have developed these events to help doctoral students make the most of the conference by providing opportunities to gain advice from experienced faculty and to build relationships with others in our field.

We invite doctoral students at all levels to register for this free ancillary event when registering for AMCIS 2021. If you have already registered for the conference but forgot to include the Doctoral Student Corner ancillary event, you are still welcome to participate. We will give away several Amazon gift cards during each of our events!

Although we will host all our events virtually this year, we anticipate them being as fun and enjoyable as before. Our main events include:

Welcome Reception & Social
Monday, August 9th (3:00 pm – 4:00 pm EST | 09:00 pm – 10:00 pm CEST | 3:00 am – 4:00 am next day Beijing Time)
This event will be our official welcome reception for the Doctoral Student Corner. During this hour, students will have the chance to meet and interact with each other on Remo.

Faculty Roundtables
Thursday, August 12th (3:30 pm – 4:30 pm EST | 09:30 pm – 10:30 pm CEST | 3:30 am – 4:30 am next day Beijing Time)
During this event, you will have the opportunity to meet and interact with senior IS scholars, who will provide advice on various aspects of academic life, including making the most of your doctoral studies. You can also ask them for advice on other aspects of academic life, such as research, teaching, and service.

Faculty Panel & Conclusion 

Friday, August 13th (11:00 am – 12:00 pm EST | 05:00 pm – 06:00 pm CEST | 11:00 pm – 00:00 am Beijing Time)
Don’t miss a live episode of the excellent IS podcast series “this IS research” with Nick Berente and Jan Recker! We will have time for questions and answers (Q&A) during the event. This event will be invaluable for all doctoral students.

Additionally, this will be our closing event for the Doctoral Student Corner.

Please visit this webpage periodically for up-to-date information on our events.

We hope that you are as excited as us to be a part of the second virtual AMCIS Doctoral Student Corner!

Sarah Hönigsberg
Chemnitz University of Technology
sarah.hoenigsberg@wiwi.tu-chemnitz.de

Carol Lee
Northeastern University
Car.Lee@northeastern.edu