Doctoral Consortium for Early Students

AMCIS is pleased to announce the 2021 Doctoral Consortium for early students on the afternoons (EDT) of Tuesday August 10 and Wednesday August 11 online (originally to be held in Montreal, Canada). The Junior Doctoral Consortium is an opportunity for PhD students to network, receive feedback on their research, and discuss career issues. All interested students who are in the first and second year of their doctoral studies (i.e., prior to comprehensive exams and advancement to candidacy at the time of application to the Doctoral Consortium) are invited to apply.

Application Process

Preference for attendance will be given to those students who have not completed their coursework and comprehensive examination at the time of application to the Doctoral Consortium.

The application includes:

  1. Cover sheet (no more than one page) with your name, address, email, year in which you started your doctoral program and a brief (one paragraph) description of your research interests and motivation for applying to the Doctoral Consortium for early students.
  2. Letter of recommendation from your faculty advisor or a major professor
  3. Curriculum vita

Important dates:

  • Due date for applications and letter of recommendation is Friday, June 11th, 2021.
  • Decisions made and communicated to applicants:  July 2nd, 2021
  • DC, Tuesday, August 10, 2021, from 2:00 pm to 5:30 pm (EDT) and Wednesday, August 11, 2:00 pm to 5:30 pm (EDT). Meet up (with the later stage PhD students) during breaks and for keynotes and panelists.

Please email all application materials as attachments in a single email to Geneviève Bassellier (genevieve.bassellier@mcgill.caand Martin Santana (, this year’s AMCIS Doctoral Consortium for early Students Co-Chairs. Please subject the email with the following: “AMCIS – Doctoral Consortium for early students 2021 application”.

If you have any questions, please contact us.

Faculty advisors include:

  • Geneviève Bassellier (McGill University) – Co-Chair
  • Martin Santana (ESAN University) – Co-Chair
  • Adela Chen (Colorado State University) – Mentor
  • Sherae Daniel (University of Cincinnati) – Mentor
  • Nina Huang (University of Houston) – Mentor
  • Kai Larsen (University of Colorado, Boulder) – Mentor
  • Ramiro Montealegre (University of Colorado) – Mentor
  • Jui Ramaprasad (University of Maryland) – Mentor
  • Bo Sophia Xiao (University of Hawaii) – Mentor
  • Min-Seok Pang (Temple University) – Mentor

Keynote speakers include:

  • Andrew Burton-Jones (University of Queensland), Editor-in-Chief, MISQ
  • Jui Ramaprasad (University of Maryland), Associate Editor MISQ, Management Science

Panelists include:

  • Walter Fernandez (UNSW-Sydney)
  • Anand Gopal (University of Maryland)
  • Monideepa Jarafdar (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
  • Steven Johnson (University of Virginia)
  • Ulrike Schutz (Southern Methodist University)
  • Ali Tafti (University of Illinois-Chicago)